We all know the background to the Rihanna – Chris Brown saga. There is something that is not cool about it that I have not commented on. It is not cool to abuse someone physically. I am outraged and annoyed each time I hear of people abusing others. Many children are abused in their childhood and they are affected by it, most times seeking professional help.

Rihanna

Rihanna

When two adults agree to enter a relationship they did not in anyway agree to abuse even in disagreements or otherwise. I couldn’t care less what the issues are surrounding ones anger but putting your hand on someone is not right. That is why the law is also there to protect persons who have been hurt innocently in anyway.

Back to the drama of the Rihanna – Chris Brown saga. We know that they had a confrontation and Rihanna’s face was marred by the vicious attack of Chris Brown. The matter was brought to the court. But there is a bigger issue; both are celebrities with huge careers in the entertainment industry.

Chris Brown

Chris Brown

Recently, Chris Brown released a video expressing his regret to the situation and vowing not to hurt anyone again. There is no doubt in my mind that this guy needs anger management. He is obsessed with the limelight and even in his quest to be sorry he wasn’t. I do not buy his message; he was in no way sincere and regretful of his heinous actions toward a woman.

I am alarmed that women would even support a man abusing a woman. How did we get here? How can a woman in their right mind agree with a man battering, bruising a woman? I have heard this saying by many ‘If a man doesn’t beat me, he doesn’t love me.’ I am shocked but the myriad of events that are happening now doesn’t alarm me one bit.

But what is one the line here is Chris Brown’s career. Rihanna has moved on and he thinks it is his time as well. The media has given Brown a free ride with his actions; I am not alarmed by that. The media patronizes actions that are not healthy for any society. All I want Brown to do is just go away. He refers to himself as a role model. It baffles me to think who would bestow such a title like that to him. Celebrities today are in no way role models. If we should follow, look up to these stars, we would lead ourselves down a destructive road and our lives would be a misery.

