We will all agree that life’s stresses and issues will cause us to take a well deserved break. People take vacations and a break from their busy schedules to de-stress and recoup from their myriad of problems. Wherever our vacation location might be it is all in aid to help us relax and ease the burden of life a little. Millions of people come to Jamaica every year and enjoy our scenic attractions and resort areas visiting the wonderful locations that make this island unique and beautiful, even if you’re here for business. For the citizens that live here for the most part most have not visited all fourteen parishes to enjoy what many tourists come to get a taste of.

Long Bay Portland

Long Bay Portland

I have lived here for 22 years and now I can proudly say that I have been to all fourteen parishes. The parishes I had not visited were Portland, St. Mary and St. Thomas. To justify why I didn’t visit these areas of the island was that they were out of my reach and I had no real reason to visit or to be there. I took a well deserved trip to these parishes and I must say how beautiful they are. For the first time I was proud of my country. We all know where that statement came from. Many people know Jamaica for the wonderful locations, beaches and the hotels.

After seeing these parishes I have come to the conclusion that if most Jamaicans take the time to appreciate what we own (the entire island) we would feel happier about our country and about ourselves. We were named the third happiest country in the world. I can only think we could be number one if Jamaicans knew their island paradise. We have not seen our island, the culture in its entirety so we cannot appreciate it. We are only concerned about living our own lives. For most people living in Jamaica they have only seen the parish they currently live in and maybe the parishes surrounding it. This is not only unique to Jamaica. Many other places in the world like the USA, most people have not travelled to other states and have the opportunity to embrace what life is like for others.

Not all of us can afford to take a vacation though, and take time off from work to see areas they have not seen. It took me 22 years to experience that. If you are financially stable and can take that trip, I would advise persons to take a trip and get to know something different.

Most visitors to the island would have been to Montego Bay, Ocho Rios or Negril. If you visit Jamaica especially Portland and St. Thomas you would know that they are coastal parishes. The views were breathtaking. I was in awe for the entire time. I couldn’t believe I was in Jamaica because I have not seen these parts before. They were not the places you would typically see on television or even in the media about Jamaica. The rich blue sea, clear white sands, and beautiful shores were captivating.

A vacation is not only used to de-stress and enjoy the views but you are forced to think on life. This is an important aspect I think because we ought to analyze where we are in life and where we want to go. Taking moments to mediate and finding time for you is critical. You may be happy or sad about some aspects of your life; you must however, endeavour to be grateful for the gift of life amid all the happenings of life.

The Trident Castle Portland

The Trident Castle Portland

So as my vacation comes to an end I am indeed happy I took it. Life is not always on that perfect path but moments like these help you to see things in perspective and assist you in making the right directions. The views I had will always be etched in my mind and the future I have will always look bright. This vacation was well deserved. Yeah!

