I have always wanted to learn how to swim and if it’s something to be disappointed about in my life it’s that. I was always told by my father that he would teach me but it never materialised. I would go to the beach or the pool and just splash around or just watch other people swim around. I have been so busy that attending swimming lessons is so far fetched that taking the lessons was not apart of the plan. We all see those divers, swimmers and synchronised swimmers do what they do best and we watch in awe but we are most times concerned about competition than anything else. Swimming is beautiful to watch but it can be hard taking lessons so far in life. After a while you think how relevant learning how to swim will be. This was clearly one of my fears and now….

All that changed on my vacation to Portland. I was taught to swim by my best friend in the world who is a good swimmer. Although I had a few lessons I would admit I improved a lot on trying to swim. I didn’t know it was so hard though; although swimmers will tell you its so easy. I would recommend that persons learning to swim take away from their minds all the images they have seen because learning to swim entails more than what we see on television or have seen people do.

My first lesson was about getting used to the water. That entailed submerging and staying under the water for some time. It was shocking at first but I got used to it and was comfortable. I was excited to learn because swimming is a vital tool that you may never know when you will need it and it stays with you a lifetime. I’ve always wanted to learn because it’s so much fun and the many comments I have received on how I have the ideal swimmer’s body – tall, broad shoulders, slim. One thing though, never become fearful of the water, feel free and relax; think the water is your best friend.

In my time and before me unless you lived near a beach or river and went to the beach regularly then you would learn to swim. Now, schools are building their curriculums and activities including swimming. Children in schools today are so exposed to different activities like this that which will benefit them in their lifetime. My second class and some parts of the first lesson were dedicated on the movements of the feet.

One tip however that cannot be over emphasized is that you should clear your mind of what you have observed on swimming because it can hinder your growth and learning how to swim. I wanted to learn so fast that before I got the movements of the feet right I wanted to use my arms. In regards to swimming you can swim without using the hands.

You do not have to take my tips above because I can’t swim well myself. Well, now I have conquered one of my fears and I am on the journey to swim well IF I continue my lessons. Conquering your fears can be traumatic and can hinder personal growth at times. I was so afraid of swimming that it took a lot to get over the idea of learning to swim. The first time I walked in the pool was nerve-racking. The first time I submerged myself was horrible, the force of the water caused me to stand up right away. After the lessons I am even more comfortable to go under and go head down in the water.

Changes

So the last day of the vacation I decided to go swimming in the morning. With the aid of the inflatable raft I began to hold on, submerged my head and worked my feet. I was moving in no time. Shortly after I could swim without the raft and now I am using my hands. I am so happy I can help myself to swim in the water. This was clearly one of my fears and now…. I can swim!!!! Yeah, rock on dude!!!

