After seeing Emily Blunt on The View discussing her role in the new movie The Young Victoria, I simply had to see the movie.

Watching the period film, I was in awe. I will give this movie two thumbs up for its delivery. From the styling, to the production (set), the acting was simply flawless. The movie suffers from what I call the slow syndrome. It is not slow to the extreme where you are annoyed and want the pace to be increased. However, I like the fact that it goes slow because I am not a 40 year old who would have known the full Queen Victoria history – I’m bad on history I might add.

The movie starts with young Victoria as a child in the palace and the movie chronicles her life and enduring romance with Price Albert.

Highlights

What stood out for me particularly was the way she handled relationships. I would say Queen Victoria knew how to play her cards just right. Many of her own critics expected her to fail but she blew everyone away. She also married the perfect guy. When you watch the movie you may not like Prince Albert’s way of courting the Queen but it worked and in the end he got his dream of marrying her. His expressions were always on quality instead of quantity which was not always great to see.

I really appreciated the term he used in referring to his wife. He always said ‘my wife’ in reference to Queen Victoria. It was the sweetest thing to watch their relationship grow and their uncountable sessions of showing their love to each other. In the end they had nine children together.

The chemistry between Queen Victoria and Prince Albert was great to watch. The actors on a whole delivered; from the accents to the fashions were on point.

In any relationship there are struggles especially when an individual matters to the world – like Queen Victoria. Prince Albert wanted his voice and the struggle to achieve that voice and his space in Queen Victoria’s life was notable. Watching the movie you want the best for them. There is a moment in her life which you have to see – which really places their love and relationship in perspective. Leaders can take away messages from the life of Queen Victoria in the way she honoured her husband. That was great to see the gesture of love, care and thought.

If you like all things elegant, you will love this movie. I could not end this unconventional review without mentioning the relationship the Queen had with her own mother. Family relationships are not always the best. Queen Victoria was a victim of this and the way her own mother handled the situation when she should have stood up had ramifications for her own family – which was only sad to see play out.

I am sure you might have heard or seen many period films that focused on royal families. I have to admit that this is not the heavy royal film that will leave you lost in the dialogue. The Young Victoria is simply stellar, light, has a youthful touch, easy to follow the story line and the movie delivers a class satisfaction that many films of this genre fail to offer.

I have seen reviews that give this movie a D+. Go out and watch this movie, you will love it. I dare you!

