I was at a party last weekend and a discussion began about zodiac signs. I am an Aquarian and it appeared that people seriously seek friendships from a particular zodiac sign and it extends into dating, the whole compatibility issue. My birthday is January 30, I am not a follower of zodiac signs but from that discussion it daunted on me to see how common the characteristics of a sign can be.

I have two personalities which is unique of Aquarians. I appear to be shy, quiet and reserved but the truth is I can be a totally different person by the snap of my fingers. I turn into this energetic, outgoing individual which is not fake that is me as well. Most people who know me will remember the reserved type, laidback, problem solving, level headed Corve etc. I recently began to think that this could affect me professionally. I remember I was in a discussion with my boss and I made a statement that I have many other talents. We were working on a project and we needed to go on air (radio station) to promote an expo we were planning. So I expressed interest in doing it. Being the only alternative he gave me the opportunity (he could have done it by himself). After the interview he was blown away, flabbergasted that I really delivered – the interview was really good. I am hard to please and I am critical of myself even. I told that story just to emphasize how far apart my personalities are. In college I also campaigned by Students’ Union President (lost by 100 votes) but I served up that energetic personality to energize the campaigns, something my campus lacked. The year after candidates was coming to me for advice.

So this week I saw online celebrities born in January. I knew Oprah, Justin Timberlake and others were born in the month of January. I have never researched though other celebrities or popular people who were born in the same month. So I decided to Google and I found something very striking, Dick Cheney and Rachel Uchitel (Justin Timberlake) were born on January 30, Oprah is the 29th and Timberlake is on the 31st.  Can you believe my disdain, my shock? lol Truth be told I don’t mind it.

I spent some time researching facts on Aquarians and it is so intriguing to see the similarities scream at you from the screen. It is true that I run from emotional expression, I am ‘extra’ independent, a humanitarian, helping others, a good listener, and original. What was interesting was to see the best bed mates for the Aquarian man would be Gemini, Libra, Sagittarius, Aries, and Aquarius.

It was a huge debate at the party about the compatibility of those from different zodiac signs. I would not date someone the ‘zodiac’ way, I just think that there are exceptions and you may cut yourself off from true happiness if you follow the stars. What if? I mean are you more concerned about the birth date more than the person’s heart and soul.

I have a dream that one day you will not be judged by your birth date but by your content of your character.

I would love to hear from people who deliberately dated from the advices given in horoscopes and hear how successful it is. I remember in high school (many years ago J) the girls would be all over the newspaper checking the horoscopes. Looking back I noticed that the guys would not be so thrilled about it but may just have read it for the heck of it. So do females read horoscopes more than males? That is interesting. I clicked on a particular website and I must say the colors on the site were very feminine – pinks and reddish tones, not to mention all the photos were of females and the only photo that depicted a man was soliciting females to date males on that particular website.

I find the information on these websites very interesting, convincing but I will take it all with a grain of salt.

