February 6 – Today is Bob Marley’s 65th Birthday.

Bob Marley

Bob Marley is a worldwide legend. He is celebrated locally in Jamaica and loved internationally. The first Bob Marley song I learnt was One Love and many will admit this is the only one they know. I also know Three Little Birds because my father would always sing this one – even hum it or whistle to it. It was like a morning ritual. He would be by the side of the house near my room window working and all you hear is “Don’t Worry, about a thing.” Can I say maybe that was the wake up call.

Bob Marley’s song One Love is a staple on Jamaica’s Tourism advertisements internationally. In many parts of the world this man is idolised. Jamaicans will argue he isn’t awarded or celebrated enough because to this day some still advocate for him to be a National Hero or to be more awarded for his work. He brought Jamaican music to the world and has paved the platform for today’s musicians from Jamaica.

Imagine today we celebrate Michael Jackson’s birthday and the television networks don’t even have a feature about his life. I am sure they will have one. However, for most Jamaicans Bob Marley is just as huge (his music) and I expected to wake up to a nice Bob Marley program but there are none. I know many people are sad, I just read a tweet from a Jamaican who expressed he wants to see Bob Marley trending.

Happy Birthday to a son of Jamaica who has touched the world musically with his gifts. He will be remembered for his repertoire of songs and for bringing Jamaica’s music, reggae to the world.

Happy Birthday Bob Marley.

Bob Marley One Love

Bob Marley’s Three Little Birds

Redemption Song – Bob Marley

No Woman No Cry – Bob Marley

